| Source | Unit counted | Latest published round |
|---|---|---|
| Agriculture Census | Operational holdings, by size, social group and sex of holder | 2015-16 (the 2021-22 census has finished fieldwork) |
| Situation Assessment Survey (NSS) | Agricultural households: produce worth over ₹4,000 a year and a member self-employed in farming | 77th round, January to December 2019 |
| Periodic Labour Force Survey | Workers aged 15 and over, by industry | Calendar year 2025 |
| Input Survey | Use of seed, fertiliser and machinery by holdings | 2016-17 |
| Social group | Agricultural households (%) | Non-agricultural households (%) | All rural households (%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scheduled Tribes | 14.2 | 10.0 | 12.3 |
| Scheduled Castes | 15.9 | 28.4 | 21.6 |
| Other Backward Classes | 45.8 | 42.8 | 44.4 |
| Others | 24.1 | 18.8 | 21.7 |
| All | 100.0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Land possessed (ha) | Agricultural households (%) | Non-agricultural households (%) |
|---|---|---|
| Under 0.01 | 0.6 | 26.8 |
| 0.01 to 0.40 | 34.2 | 69.0 |
| 0.40 to 1.00 | 35.6 | 3.1 |
| 1.01 to 2.00 | 17.7 | 0.7 |
| 2.01 to 4.00 | 8.6 | 0.4 |
| 4.01 to 10.00 | 2.8 | 0.0 |
| Over 10.00 | 0.4 | 0.0 |
| Term | Meaning |
|---|---|
| Kharif | The monsoon season. Sown June to July, harvested from October. Paddy, cotton, soybean, pulses. |
| Rabi | The winter season. Sown October to December, harvested from March. Wheat, mustard, gram. |
| Marketing season | The year in which a crop is sold. Rabi Marketing Season 2027-28 covers wheat sown in late 2026. |
| MSP | Minimum Support Price, the price at which public agencies offer to buy a mandated crop. |
| Procurement | Purchase of grain by the Food Corporation of India and state agencies for the central pool. |
| Central pool | The stock of rice and wheat held for the Public Distribution System and buffer. |
| Term | Meaning |
|---|---|
| APMC | Agricultural Produce Market Committee, which runs a regulated market (mandi) under state law. |
| FPO | Farmer Producer Organisation, a company or cooperative owned by farmers. |
| KCC | Kisan Credit Card, a revolving crop loan account. |
| GIA and GCA | Gross irrigated area and gross cropped area; a hectare cropped twice counts twice. |
| Stage of extraction | Annual groundwater use as a share of what can be extracted each year. |
| Lakh, crore | One lakh is 100,000. One crore is 10 million. |
| Monthly income per agricultural household, 2018-19 (₹) | Paid-out expenses deducted | Paid-out and imputed expenses deducted |
|---|---|---|
| Wages and salaries | 4,063 | 4,063 |
| Leasing out land | 134 | 134 |
| Net receipt, crop production | 3,798 | 3,058 |
| Net receipt, farming of animals | 1,582 | 441 |
| Net receipt, non-farm business | 641 | 641 |
| Total | 10,218 | 8,337 |
| Claim you may hear | What to check |
|---|---|
| Farm incomes have doubled | Which year is the base, which survey, and whether figures are nominal |
| Most farm income is now non-farm | Wages include farm labour; the survey does not split farm and non-farm wages |
| Dairy is the most profitable activity | Net animal income falls from ₹1,582 to ₹441 once family labour is costed |
| Half of farmers are in debt | The 50.2% is a share of agricultural households, measured in 2019 |
| Season | Mandated crops |
|---|---|
| Kharif (14) | Paddy, jowar, bajra, ragi, maize, arhar (tur), moong, urad, cotton, groundnut, sunflower seed, soybean, sesamum, nigerseed |
| Rabi (6) | Wheat, barley, gram, masur (lentil), rapeseed and mustard, safflower |
| Commercial (2) | Jute, copra |
| Separately | Sugarcane, through the Fair and Remunerative Price |
| Crop (kharif 2026-27) | MSP (₹/quintal) | Cost used (₹/quintal) | Margin over cost | MSP 2025-26 | MSP 2013-14 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paddy, common | 2,441 | 1,627 | 50% | 2,369 | 1,310 |
| Jowar, hybrid | 4,023 | 2,682 | 50% | 3,699 | 1,500 |
| Bajra | 2,900 | 1,858 | 56% | 2,775 | 1,250 |
| Maize | 2,410 | 1,544 | 56% | 2,400 | 1,310 |
| Tur (arhar) | 8,450 | 5,496 | 54% | 8,000 | 4,300 |
| Moong | 8,780 | 5,438 | 61% | 8,768 | 4,500 |
| Soybean (yellow) | 5,708 | 3,805 | 50% | 5,328 | 2,560 |
| Cotton, medium staple | 8,267 | 5,511 | 50% | 7,710 | 3,700 |
| Agricultural households (%) | Paddy 2013 | Paddy 2019 | Wheat 2013 | Wheat 2019 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aware of MSP | 32.3 | 40.7 | 39.2 | 37.1 |
| Aware of a procurement agency | 25.1 | 30.3 | 34.5 | 27.2 |
| Sold to a procurement agency | 13.5 | 14.5 | 16.2 | 9.7 |
| Share of output sold at MSP | 27.0 | 23.7 | 35.0 | 20.8 |
| Instrument | How it works | Main risk |
|---|---|---|
| Open-ended procurement | Agencies buy all grain of fair average quality offered at MSP | Stocks pile up; benefits go where purchase centres exist |
| Price Support Scheme (PM-AASHA) | Buys notified pulses, oilseeds and copra when prices fall below MSP | Quantity caps; registration and land-record requirements |
| Price-deficiency payment | Pays the gap between MSP and the market price, without buying the grain | Traders may lower prices knowing the state will pay the gap |
| Per-acre diversification incentive | Pays farmers to grow a different crop | Needs reliable crop verification and a market for the new crop |
| Act | What it provided | What it would have changed |
|---|---|---|
| Farmers' Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act 2020 | Trade in farm produce at any place of production, collection or aggregation, including electronic trading | Trade outside the state-notified APMC market yards, and a bar on states levying market fees on trade outside their designated trade areas |
| Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Act 2020 | A legal framework for agreements between farmers and buyers made before sowing, including the price | A national framework for contract farming, with its own dispute resolution mechanism |
| Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act 2020 | Removed cereals, pulses, potatoes, onions and edible oils from routine stock control | Stock limits allowed only in extraordinary circumstances or after a steep price rise |
| State List entry | Subject |
|---|---|
| 14 | Agriculture, including agricultural education and research, and protection against pests and plant diseases |
| 17 | Water: water supplies, irrigation and canals, drainage and embankments, water storage and water power |
| 18 | Land: rights in or over land, land tenures including the relation of landlord and tenant, and transfer and alienation of agricultural land |
| 28 | Markets and fairs |
| Proposal | Who argues for it | Fiscal cost |
|---|---|---|
| Legal guarantee of MSP for all mandated crops | Farmers' unions | Very high; depends on how much the state must buy or top up |
| MSP on C2 cost plus 50% | Swaminathan Commission, farmers' movements | Raises every MSP and every procurement bill |
| Price-deficiency payments | Economic Survey 2025-26, as a longer-term option | Pays the gap only, but needs a reliable market price |
| Status quo with PM-AASHA for pulses and oilseeds | Current policy | Capped by budget, ₹7,200 crore in 2026-27 |
| Claim | What the evidence in this course shows |
|---|---|
| Most farmers depend on MSP | In 2019, 14.5% of paddy-growing and 9.7% of wheat-growing agricultural households sold to a procurement agency |
| The laws only affected Punjab and Haryana | The fee and trade provisions applied nationally; the procurement stakes were highest where procurement is large |
| Private markets pay farmers more | Some studies find gains where a credible buyer enters; results depend on competition in the local market |
| Small farmers would gain bargaining power | Two-thirds of holdings are under one hectare; bargaining power depends on aggregation through FPOs or cooperatives |
| Section of the NFSA | Entitlement |
|---|---|
| 3(1) | Every person in a priority household: 5 kg of foodgrains a month at the prices in Schedule I |
| 3(1), first proviso | Antyodaya Anna Yojana households: 35 kg a household a month |
| 3(2) | Coverage up to 75% of the rural population and 50% of the urban population |
| 4 | Pregnant women and lactating mothers: free meals through the anganwadi, and a maternity benefit of not less than ₹6,000 |
| 5 | Children aged six months to six years: free meals through the anganwadi; children up to class VIII: a free mid-day meal on school days |
| 13 | The eldest woman aged 18 or over is head of the household for the ration card |
| Schedule I | Rice at no more than ₹3 a kg, wheat ₹2, coarse grains ₹1, for three years and then as the Centre fixes, capped at MSP |
| Design choice | Effect on leakage | Effect on exclusion |
|---|---|---|
| Biometric check at the shop | Lowers impersonation | Raises it where machines or networks fail |
| Cancel cards not seeded with Aadhaar | Removes duplicates and ghosts | Removes eligible people who could not seed |
| Portability (One Nation One Ration Card) | Little direct effect | Lowers it for migrants away from home |
| Fallback to manual entry or a nominee | Some risk of misuse | Lowers it for the old and disabled |
| NFSA channel | Who it reaches | Section |
|---|---|---|
| Ration shop (TPDS) | Priority and Antyodaya households | 3 |
| Anganwadi meals | Children 6 months to 6 years; pregnant women and lactating mothers | 4(a), 5(1)(a) |
| Mid-day meal | Children up to class VIII in government, local body and aided schools | 5(1)(b) |
| Maternity benefit of at least ₹6,000 | Pregnant women, other than those in regular government or PSU employment | 4(b) |
| Meals for malnourished children | Children identified through the anganwadi | 6 |
| Item (₹ crore) | 2024-25 actual | 2025-26 budget | 2025-26 revised | 2026-27 budget |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fertiliser subsidy | 1,70,683 | 1,67,887 | 1,86,460 | 1,70,781 |
| Food subsidy | 1,99,867 | 2,03,420 | 2,28,154 | 2,27,629 |
| PM-KISAN | 66,121 | 63,500 | 63,500 | 63,500 |
| Modified Interest Subvention Scheme | 22,600 | 22,600 | 22,600 | 22,600 |
| Crop insurance scheme | 14,473 | 12,242 | 12,267 | 12,200 |
| PM-AASHA (price support) | 5,438 | 6,941 | 6,941 | 7,200 |
| PM-KUSUM (solar pumps) | 2,560 | 2,600 | 5,000 | 5,000 |
| Who gains or loses | Under the proposal |
|---|---|
| Farmer applying balanced doses | Gains: full transfer, lower spending |
| Farmer over-applying urea | Loses unless they cut use |
| Rain-fed pulse or oilseed grower | Gains: transfer exceeds extra cost |
| Tenant without recorded lease | Loses if the transfer goes to the owner |
| Instrument | Who receives most | Who it misses | Effect on resource use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fertiliser price subsidy | Heavy users of urea, often in irrigated rice and wheat | Rain-fed farmers who buy little fertiliser | Encourages excess nitrogen |
| Free or flat-rate power | Farmers with electric pumps and good aquifers | Rain-fed and canal-dependent farmers; those without connections | Encourages pumping where not rationed |
| Interest subvention | Farmers with bank accounts, land records and KCCs | Tenants and those who borrow informally | Neutral |
| PM-KISAN | Every eligible landholding family equally | Tenants and landless labourers | Neutral |
| Per-acre transfer (proposed) | Recorded cultivators, by area | Unrecorded tenants unless the design includes them | Neutral; lets input prices signal cost |
| MSP procurement | Sellers of rice and wheat near purchase centres | Farmers in districts without procurement | Favours rice and wheat over other crops |
| Measure, 2025 | Value |
|---|---|
| Annual groundwater recharge | 448.52 billion cubic metres |
| Annual extractable resource | 407.75 BCM |
| Annual extraction, all uses | 247.22 BCM |
| National stage of extraction | 60.63% (60.48% in 2024; 63.33% in 2017) |
| Assessment units | 6,762 blocks, mandals and talukas |
| Category of unit | Stage of extraction | Units | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Safe | Under 70% | 4,946 | 73.14% |
| Semi-critical | 70% to 90% | 758 | 11.21% |
| Critical | 90% to 100% | 201 | 2.97% |
| Over-exploited | Above 100% | 730 | 10.80% |
| Saline | Separate category | 127 | 1.88% |
| State example in the Economic Survey | What was done | Reported result |
|---|---|---|
| Telangana | Kaleshwaram Lift Irrigation Project; Mission Kakatiya to rejuvenate tanks | Cultivated area rose from 1.31 crore acres in 2014 to 2.2 crore acres by FY23 |
| Assam | State Irrigation Plan (2022), new schemes and solar pumps | Gross irrigated area 24.28% of agricultural land by 2024-25 |
| Uttar Pradesh | Ground Water Rules (2020) | Recharge up marginally; extraction intensity also up |
| Indicator | What it tells you | What it misses |
|---|---|---|
| Hectares under micro-irrigation | Adoption of the technology | Whether total pumping fell |
| Water use per hectare | Efficiency on the treated plot | Expansion to new plots |
| Depth to water table in monitoring wells | The state of the aquifer | Which farmers caused the change |
| Stage of extraction for the block | Balance of recharge and use | Seasonal and local variation |
| Feature | Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana |
|---|---|
| Launched | 18 February 2016, from kharif 2016 |
| Farmer's premium, maximum | 2% kharif foodgrains and oilseeds; 1.5% rabi; 5% commercial and horticultural crops |
| Rest of the premium | Centre and state 50:50; 90:10 in north-eastern and Himalayan states |
| Yield losses | Area-based: drought, dry spells, flood, cyclone, hail, pests and disease in a notified area |
| Prevented sowing | Claims up to 25% of the sum insured |
| Post-harvest | Crop drying in the field covered for up to 14 days against cyclone and unseasonal rain |
| Localised calamity | Farm-level claims for hail, landslide, inundation, cloudburst and natural fire |
| Farmers enrolled | Kharif 2024 | Kharif 2025 | Kharif 2026 (to 28 Aug) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh | 31.92 lakh | 7.43 lakh | 16.22 lakh |
| Maharashtra | 76.59 lakh | 45.99 lakh | 42.55 lakh |
| Uttar Pradesh | 15.48 lakh | 20.84 lakh | not reported |
| Rajasthan | 30.59 lakh | 36.45 lakh | not reported |
| Group | In PM-KISAN? | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Owner-cultivator with records | Yes | Landholding family with seeded records |
| Owner whose records are not updated | May be left out | Land not recorded in the family's name |
| Tenant or sharecropper | No | Not a landholder |
| Landless agricultural labourer | No | No land |
| Landowner who pays income tax | No | Excluded category |
| Woman cultivator on family land | Only if land is in her name | Paid to the landholding family |
| Crop (agricultural households producing it) | Producing (% of agricultural households) | Of producers, % reporting a sale |
|---|---|---|
| Paddy, July to December 2018 | 53.2 | 52.6 |
| Wheat, January to June 2019 | 41.2 | 50.8 |
| Maize, July to December 2018 | 11.3 | 47.1 |
| Soybean, July to December 2018 | 6.0 | 94.4 |
| Cotton, July to December 2018 | 7.2 | 94.6 |
| Sugarcane, July to December 2018 | 3.5 | 95.9 |
| Potato, January to June 2019 | 5.3 | 55.0 |
| What raised prices in Goyal's study | What a practitioner should ask locally |
|---|---|
| Price information at the village | Do farmers see mandi prices before they sell? |
| A second buyer at the farm gate | Is there more than one buyer, or one trader who also lends? |
| Warehouses near the village | Can farmers store and wait, or must they sell at harvest? |
| Transparent weighing and grading | Who weighs, and who decides the grade? |
| Stage | Indicator worth tracking |
|---|---|
| Formation | Members, share capital paid up, women on the board |
| Business | Turnover, number of members selling through the FPO |
| Viability | Profit after support ends, working capital, credit access |
| Benefit | Price members receive compared with non-members |
| Common failure | Early warning sign |
|---|---|
| Formed to meet a target | Members cannot say what the FPO does for them |
| Captured by a few larger farmers | Board and benefits concentrated in one group or village |
| No working capital | Members sell to traders even after the FPO opens a collection centre |
| Dependence on a single buyer | Prices dictated by one processor or retailer |
| Exclusion of tenants and women | Membership tied to land in the member's name |
| Scheme | Owner-cultivator | Tenant or sharecropper | Landless labourer | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PM-KISAN | Yes | No | No | Landholding farmer families with seeded land records |
| PMFBY | Yes | Yes, with tenure agreement or sowing certificate as the state requires | No crop to insure | Insurable interest in the crop |
| MSP procurement of rice and wheat | Yes | Depends on state registration rules | No crop to sell | Sale at a purchase centre |
| Price Support Scheme (pulses, oilseeds) | Yes | Only with valid land records | No | Pre-registered farmers with land records |
| NFSA ration | If eligible household | If eligible household | If eligible household | Household identification, not land |
| VB G RAM G rural employment guarantee | If they seek work | If they seek work | Yes | Rural household, 125 days a year |
| Design question | What to do | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who is the farmer on your list? | Register the person who cultivates as well as the recorded owner | Most women cultivators do not hold the land record |
| Who controls the money? | Pay transfers into women's own accounts where they manage the activity | Payment to the landholder goes to men in most families |
| When and where is training held? | In the village, at times women choose, with childcare | Care work takes over two hours a day for women who do it |
| Which tasks does the new practice change? | Map tasks by sex before and after adoption | A yield gain can come from more unpaid female labour |
| Who sits on the FPO board? | Reserve seats and allow membership without land title | Membership tied to land excludes most women |
| Which crops and animals? | Include livestock, dairy and kitchen gardens | These are often women's activities and income |
| Lesson | Implication for programme design |
|---|---|
| Risk shapes investment | Reducing the worst outcome can raise effort and inputs in every year |
| Seed is a delivery problem | A proven variety helps only if farmers can get certified seed on time |
| Benefits spill into other decisions | Measure area, inputs and credit, not only yield |
| Insurance and technology complement each other | A stress-tolerant seed lowers the losses insurance must cover |
| Policy | Effect on what is grown | Effect on diets |
|---|---|---|
| MSP procurement concentrated on rice and wheat | Rice and wheat are the safe choice where procurement works | The PDS distributes cereals; protein and micronutrients come from the market |
| Urea subsidy | Makes nitrogen cheap relative to other nutrients | No direct effect on diets |
| Irrigation concentrated on rice | About 67% of rice is irrigated, under 15% of millets | Millets and pulses stay exposed to rainfall shocks and price swings |
| Imports of edible oils and pulses | Domestic oilseed and pulse growers compete with imports | Prices of protein and fat depend on world markets |
| Millets in the PDS and school meals | Creates assured demand for millets in states that buy them | Adds micronutrient-rich grains to the ration |
| Step | Question | Source of evidence |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Exposure | Is the area rain-fed? What share of its main crops is irrigated? | District irrigation statistics; Economic Survey crop coverage |
| 2. Water | Is the block safe, semi-critical, critical or over-exploited? | Dynamic Ground Water Resource Assessment |
| 3. Hazards | Which shocks recur: drought, flood, heat at grain filling, unseasonal rain? | IMD records; local crop loss history |
| 4. Varieties | Are stress-tolerant varieties available, and is certified seed reachable on time? | State seed corporations; KVKs |
| 5. Insurance | Is the crop notified under PMFBY or the weather-based scheme in this unit? | National Crop Insurance Portal |
| 6. Diversification | Is there a buyer for the alternative crop at a fair price? | Mandi and procurement data; FPOs |
| 7. Nutrition | Will the change raise or lower the diversity of food the household eats? | Household diet surveys; NFHS district fact sheets |
| Study | Setting | Design | Main finding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goyal (2010), AEJ: Applied | Soybean, Madhya Pradesh | Market-level panel around kiosk entry | Mandi prices and soybean area rose after a private buyer's kiosks arrived |
| Cole et al. (2013), AEJ: Applied | Rainfall insurance, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat | Randomised price and marketing | 5-10% take-up; price elasticity -0.66 to -0.88; trust and liquidity matter |
| Drèze and Khera (2015), EPW | PDS, all India and states | Offtake against survey purchases | Leakage fell from 54% to 42% (NSS) between 2004-05 and 2011-12, fastest in reforming states |
| Emerick et al. (2016), AER | Flood-tolerant rice, Odisha | Randomised trial, 128 villages | Lower downside risk raised planting effort, area, fertiliser and credit |
| Varshney et al. (2020), IFPRI DP 1907 | PM-KISAN, Uttar Pradesh | Triple difference with matching | Reached a third of farmers in three months; helped the credit-constrained |
| Cole and Fernando (2021), Economic Journal | Phone advisory, Gujarat | Randomised, 1,200 farmers | Changed pesticide and crop choices; no systematic yield gain reported |
| Ryan and Sudarshan (2022), JPE | Farm power and groundwater, Rajasthan | Structural model with geological variation | Rationing keeps average use near optimal but misallocates water |
| Muralidharan, Niehaus and Sukhtankar, NBER WP 26744 | Biometric PDS, Jharkhand | Randomised across 132 sub-districts | Less corruption; 1.5 to 2 million lost benefits at some point |
| Question | What we know | What we do not know well |
|---|---|---|
| Do farmers get MSP? | A minority sell to agencies; awareness is limited | The price effect in districts without procurement |
| Does information raise prices? | Yes, where a credible buyer competes | Effects where one trader dominates |
| Do e-markets help? | Registrations are large | Volume traded between mandis and its price effect |
| Do FPOs raise members' prices? | 10,000 are registered | Which FPOs survive and what members gain |
| Finding | Programme implication |
|---|---|
| Insurance demand is price-sensitive and trust-sensitive | Subsidise, pay claims fast, explain area-based settlement |
| Downside protection crowds in investment | Combine stress-tolerant seed with credit and inputs |
| Free inputs are overused or misallocated | Prefer transfers plus prices that reflect cost |
| Advice changes practice before yields | Measure adoption and input use; follow up for yields over seasons |